Home / News /

Williamson and Southee to be released early for IPL 2023

After a two-Test series against the Black Caps, Sri Lanka will face New Zealand in a three-match One Day International (ODI) series.

New Zealand’s Kane Williamson will miss the Sri Lanka series(BCCI)

New Zealand Cricket has given permission for up to four-star players to join their Indian Premier League (IPL) teams ahead of the upcoming edition of the world’s richest T20 league. The four Kiwi stars will not play in New Zealand’s upcoming white-ball match against Sri Lanka. in the world, there is a chance to win.

Kane Williamson, veteran pacer Tim Southee, opener Devon Conway, and spinner Mitchell Santner will not play in the white-ball series against Sri Lanka ahead of the IPL 2023. Williamson (Gujarat Titans), Southee (Kolkata Knight Riders), Conway, and Santner (both Chennai Super Kings) will join their respective IPL camps following the conclusion of the second Test against Sri Lanka.

Star players Finn Allen (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Lockie Ferguson (KKR), and Glenn Phillips (Sunrisers Hyderabad) will join their respective IPL teams following New Zealand’s 1st ODI against Sri Lanka on March 25. In the absence of skipper Williamson, Tom Latham will lead the New Zealand team in the one-day international series against Sri Lanka.

With some of New Zealand’s biggest names departing for India, Mark Chapman, Ben Lister, and Henry Nicholls will join the Kiwi squad ahead of the 2nd ODI against Sri Lanka at Hagley Oval in Christchurch on March 28. Uncapped players Chad Bowes and Ben Lister have been named to the ODI squad for the Sri Lanka series.

Special Offer



Get In Touch With CricAdvisor Telegram Agents!
Stand A chance to win